Thread poster: Emma Page
Emma Page
Emma Page
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:14
French to English
+ ...
Jun 25, 2018

I am relatively new to full-time freelancing, so I'm looking for some context here.

I primarily work with agencies who state their payment terms up front (30 days, 45, etc.) and stick to them. In the rare case that I have accepted work from someone who it quickly becomes clear is a scammer, I have done my best to get paid and then blocked/left negative feedback/moved on.

Not long ago I did some subcontracting work, where the payment terms were clearly stated upfront.
... See more
I am relatively new to full-time freelancing, so I'm looking for some context here.

I primarily work with agencies who state their payment terms up front (30 days, 45, etc.) and stick to them. In the rare case that I have accepted work from someone who it quickly becomes clear is a scammer, I have done my best to get paid and then blocked/left negative feedback/moved on.

Not long ago I did some subcontracting work, where the payment terms were clearly stated upfront. 45 days for the end client, thus 45 days for me after the end client had been invoiced.

When the end client was slow to pay, the person I worked for let me know and was reasonable about it (assured me I would be paid regardless of whether they paid, etc.).

Here's my question. This person I am working for claims that "even though the terms were 45 days, really we shouldn't worry until 2 months have past because this is a standard issue in the industry".