Exporting mqxliff back to Word after revision
Thread poster: Caspar van Vark
Caspar van Vark
Caspar van Vark
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:37
Dutch to English
Oct 26, 2022

I received a Word file to translate, and was asked to then send it to a reviewer. (Something I've never done before - I normally just work directly with agencies and I'm not involved with reviews.)

The reviewer would return it to me, and I would then finalise the text and return the finished translation to the client.

I exported my translation as an mqxliff and sent it to the reviewer, and received an mqxliff back with edits. I imported this as a new file, accepted the
... See more
I received a Word file to translate, and was asked to then send it to a reviewer. (Something I've never done before - I normally just work directly with agencies and I'm not involved with reviews.)

The reviewer would return it to me, and I would then finalise the text and return the finished translation to the client.

I exported my translation as an mqxliff and sent it to the reviewer, and received an mqxliff back with edits. I imported this as a new file, accepted the changes etc, so it's all done. But I can't export this back into Word, can I? Because this was now an mqxliff I'd imported. I can only export back to Word from my original translation.

I can manually copy the edits over into my original translation (there weren't that many) and then export that to Word, but what would have been the better way to do this? I feel like there must be something obvious that I'm not getting...
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:37
English to Russian
Update Oct 26, 2022

Did you create a new project?
Option 1. Try to import the edited file as an update rather than a new file. Just drag and drop it to the same project.