Auteur du fil: Gingerrr
Gingerrr
Gingerrr
Local time: 22:06
May 16, 2011

Hi everybody, I need your advice

Language combinations: English and French into Italian
Simultaneous interpreting

In my fourties I'm thinking of trying to re-enter the professional interpreting, after more than 7 years stop
due to family and health problems.

I hold an interpreting diploma (1998, SSIT Milan), used to have few occasional yet big customers and never tried to join any Association nor agency because I was happy with that calm pace o
... See more
Hi everybody, I need your advice

Language combinations: English and French into Italian
Simultaneous interpreting

In my fourties I'm thinking of trying to re-enter the professional interpreting, after more than 7 years stop
due to family and health problems.

I hold an interpreting diploma (1998, SSIT Milan), used to have few occasional yet big customers and never tried to join any Association nor agency because I was happy with that calm pace of work at the time.

Meanwhile I teach English (8 years on a temporary contract) and used to translate few books.

I am in the "now or never" state of mind... : what would you suggest?

-Considering a refreshing/master/any course? Where? At my age?

Any advice greatly welcomed... THANK YOU!

Ivette
Collapse

Susanna Garcia
Susanna Garcia  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:06
italien vers anglais
+ ...
In memoriam
Age doesn't matter May 17, 2011

Gingerrr wrote:

-Considering a refreshing/master/any course? Where? At my age?

Any advice greatly welcomed... THANK YOU!

Ivette

If my experience can help .... at the age of 51, I did an MA in Translation with Language Technology and had a fantastic experience although it was strange to be at the same uni together with my son! The following year, I took my full time job down to 0.5 and built up a client base in both translating and interpreting and then in August 2007, became fully freelance.