Thread poster: Megan Campbell
Megan Campbell
Megan Campbell
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:45
Japanese to English
Mar 30

Hello,

I am a beginner freelance Japanese to English subtitler based in the UK.

I have decided my rate based on the amount I want to earn in a year and the number of hours I want to work.

I was happy with my rate until I found out it is way below the UK average minimum (£6-£13 per minute).

I was hoping someone could help me understand why the minimum starts from around £6.

£6 per minute seems expensive to me. I am sure
... See more
Hello,

I am a beginner freelance Japanese to English subtitler based in the UK.

I have decided my rate based on the amount I want to earn in a year and the number of hours I want to work.

I was happy with my rate until I found out it is way below the UK average minimum (£6-£13 per minute).

I was hoping someone could help me understand why the minimum starts from around £6.

£6 per minute seems expensive to me. I am sure there is something I am not taking into account.
Collapse

Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 13:45
German to Swedish
+ ...
Perspective Apr 1

25 years ago I did subtitling of 20-minute sitcoms for around $80 each (about 200 subtitles per episode, no spotting).
Inflation-adjusted, that would be something like $144 today, or $7 per minute. The work took 3-5 hours and the pay felt like a living wage then, but no more than that.

[Bearbeitet am 2024-04-01 18:58 GMT]

Dalia Nour

Robert Rutledge
Robert Rutledge  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:45
Member (2021)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Things to consider Apr 1

As someone active in the subtitling field, there are a lot of things to consider. In my language combination, Spanish-to-English, the äverage minimum rate you have posted, £6-£13 per minute, does seem quite high. I am used to working for substantially less than that.