Nadja Leonard
Nadja Leonard
United States
Local time: 05:07
Member (2004)
German to English
+ ...
Feb 10, 2003

I am a New York-based translator who recently completed a project for an Italian-based agency. They plan to wire payment into my U.S. bank account and have asked me how to handle deducting taxes.

How do U.S. translators handle paying taxes when working with non-U.S. based agencies?

Thanks.

Nadja

Daina Jauntirans
Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:07
German to English
+ ...
Nothing gets deducted Feb 11, 2003

What taxes are they talking about? I am also US-based and work for customers abroad. I pay quarterly estimated income taxes to my state and the IRS. This gets squared up at the end of the year (i.e. if I made more money than estimated, I pay the difference I owe in taxes). I am not sure what taxes they think need to be taken out. If you are a US citizen resident in the US, you certainly don\'t owe any Italian taxes.

Nadja Leonard
Nadja Leonard
United States
Local time: 05:07
Member (2004)
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Daina Feb 11, 2003

Daina,

Thank you for your reply. I\'m not sure what taxes they are talking about. The Italian agency asked me \"how I usually handle the issue of taxes when working with foreign agencies.\"

I am a US citizen and US resident. I\'ll ask them to send me full payment, and then declare the money to my tax accountant in April.

Thanks again for your reply.

Nadja

Quote:
... See more
Daina,

Thank you for your reply. I\'m not sure what taxes they are talking about. The Italian agency asked me \"how I usually handle the issue of taxes when working with foreign agencies.\"

I am a US citizen and US resident. I\'ll ask them to send me full payment, and then declare the money to my tax accountant in April.

Thanks again for your reply.

Nadja

Quote:

On 2003-02-11 15:41, Daina wrote: