Diploma in Public Service Interpreting
Thread poster: Amy Moreno
Amy Moreno
Amy Moreno
Local time: 02:22
English
+ ...
Sep 26, 2010

I am relatively new to translating and interpreting and it's an area I really want to gain more experience working in.

I want to be professionally qualified so recently I began to study the DPSI (Diploma in Public Service Interpreting) with a speciality in Law.

We will be taught general interpreting and translating skills in the first module then focus on the language and terminology, etc used in Law.

I'm looking forward to learning more and improving my
... See more
I am relatively new to translating and interpreting and it's an area I really want to gain more experience working in.

I want to be professionally qualified so recently I began to study the DPSI (Diploma in Public Service Interpreting) with a speciality in Law.

We will be taught general interpreting and translating skills in the first module then focus on the language and terminology, etc used in Law.

I'm looking forward to learning more and improving my translating and interpreting skills, but (aside from official documents and certificated) I have limited experience in translating for Law so far - so I'm sure I'll have lots to learn!

I wondered, has anyone else on ProZ studied for the DPSI before? Do you have any advice? It would be greatly appreciated as I'm still a bit of a "newbie"!
Collapse

Camelia Colnic
Camelia Colnic  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Romanian to English
+ ...
DPSI Feb 27, 2011

Hi there,

I am also doing that course now. I am wondering if there are people who did it in the past years and can tell us if it helped them in their careers. Is it worth it, to have this course?

Amy Moreno
Amy Moreno
English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
DPSI exam in June Mar 3, 2011

Hi Camelia,