Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Do you keep up to date with your working languages?
Thread poster: Sofía Creo
Sofía Creo
Sofía Creo
Argentina
Local time: 03:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 16, 2023

Hi, colleagues!
As a professional translator, I always try to keep updated with my working languages, especially English. I put into practice different strategies to avoid being rusty! Here I share some:
- Speak with natives
- Meet up with colleagues to speak in English
- Read news in English related to my specialization
Do you do some of these activities as well? Do you have any other strategy?

Semper Fidelis

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 07:34
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yes Jan 16, 2023

I watch the news in French at lunch time (Rtbf via TVMonde) and in English at dinner time (BBC and/or SkyNews). I read French (“Obs”, “Le Monde”, “Elle”, “Marie Claire”) English (“The Economist”), Spanish (“El País”) and Italian (“La Stampa”, “Corriere della Sera”) newspapers and magazines (digital and/or print). The most effective way to learn a language is immersing yourself in the local culture and I lived in the francophone part of Belgium for 30 years. I’v... See more
I watch the news in French at lunch time (Rtbf via TVMonde) and in English at dinner time (BBC and/or SkyNews). I read French (“Obs”, “Le Monde”, “Elle”, “Marie Claire”) English (“The Economist”), Spanish (“El País”) and Italian (“La Stampa”, “Corriere della Sera”) newspapers and magazines (digital and/or print). The most effective way to learn a language is immersing yourself in the local culture and I lived in the francophone part of Belgium for 30 years. I’ve moved back to my home country and town in October 2015 (time flies, it doesn’t seem 8 years ago)…Collapse

Sofía Creo
Angie Garbarino
Michele Fauble
Marijke Singer
Anette Hilgendag

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...