Páginas no tópico:   [1 2] >
"Dumbing Down" English?
Tópico cartaz: dolichos
dolichos
dolichos
turco para inglês
Jan 26, 2016

Hi,

I wonder if anybody here deals with a demand to "dumb down" their language for non-natives? I might be venting a bit here but there is a real issue I'm dealing with.

I've been doing free-lance translation for many years, mostly books, articles and film subtitles. My source language is Turkish. I might mention that one film I translated was recognized at a festival for "best subtitles," so this is not a foreign area for me.

Unless I receive special inst
... See more
Hi,

I wonder if anybody here deals with a demand to "dumb down" their language for non-natives? I might be venting a bit here but there is a real issue I'm dealing with.

I've been doing free-lance translation for many years, mostly books, articles and film subtitles. My source language is Turkish. I might mention that one film I translated was recognized at a festival for "best subtitles," so this is not a foreign area for me.

Unless I receive special instructions to do otherwise, my goal is always to reflect the meaning and feel of the original text without unnecessary complexity or wordiness. Translating from Turkish, that becomes instinctive, since many Turkish writers use very general, vague but flowery language, and long redundant sentences. Part of this is simply a matter of linguistic culture. Translators from Japanese must know exactly what I'm talking about. Some clients with a fair knowledge of English look for their wordiness in the English and when they don't find it, think the translation is "not faithful." That's fairly easy to deal with as long as you don't make them lose face.

I'm having the opposite issue with a client now. He has sent me a film synopsis and director's statement. The synopsis in particular was a typically wordy, redundant text. In translating it, I divided up the long sentences and replaced long wordy phrases with more precise words.